Loading Events

« All Events

There Goes the Neighborhood

March 7

A young Black woman is centered and the image is an actual photo. There are street signs near her. There are also a log of other people closer to the bottom of the book. Some are smiling and some are not. There Goes the Neighborhood by Jade Adia
Disney-Hyperion

Fifteen-year-old Rhea and her best friends, Zeke and Malachi, are South L.A. born and raised, but a recent wave of gentrification has been transforming the place that they call home. When an eviction notice from a greedy landlord threatens to split up the crew, Rhea and her friends manipulate social media to form a fake gang in hopes of scaring off developers. Their scheme appears to work at first… until a murder is pegged on the nonexistent gang. Yikes.

THERE GOES THE NEIGHBORHOOD is a love letter to communities of color everywhere, a middle finger to the destructive powers of gentrification, and a hilarious adventure about three teens who have the best intentions, if not always the best solutions. Perfect for fans of Tiffany Jackson’s Let Me Hear a Rhyme and Netflix’s On My Block, this is an uproarious novel about power, friendship, and what really makes a neighborhood. — Cover image and summary via Goodreads

Details

Date:
March 7
Event Category:

For additions or corrections to the calendar, please contact one of our bloggers or leave a comment on the latest post!