Review Archive

November 2017

Disappeared by Francisco X. Stork
The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline (mini review)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao
The Day Tajon Got Shot by The Teen Writers of Beacon House
Code Name: Butterfly by Ahlam Bharat, Translation by Nancy Roberts (mini review)
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sánchez
Evangelina Takes Flight by Diana J. Noble (mini review)
The Cholo Tree by Daniel Chacon

October 2017

Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore
You Bring the Distant Near by Mitali Perkins
The Legend of Korra: Turf Wars Part One by Michael Dante DiMartino, Irene Koh (Illustrations)
#NotYourPrincess edited by Lisa Charleyboy & Mary Beth Leatherdale (Group Discussion)
Buried Heart by Kate Elliott

September 2017

The Victoria in My Head Janelle Milanes
#NotYourPrincess edited by Lisa Charleyboy and Mary Beth Leatherdale
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo by F.C. Yee
Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert
Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson

August 2017

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana
Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence
Want by Cindy Pon (Group Discussion)
One Shadow on the Wall by Leah Henderson
Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh

July 2017

Miles Morales by Jason Reynolds
Noteworthy by Riley Redgate
Saints and Misfits by S.K. Ali
Summer of Sloane by Erin L. Schneider

June 2017

The Radius of Us by Marie Marquardt
The Long Run by Joseph Bruchac
That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim
I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (Group Discussion)
Solo by Kwame Alexander and Mary Rand Hess

May 2017

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman
North of Happy by Adi Alsaid
Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh
The Edge of the Abyss by Emily Skrutskie

April 2017

Piecing Me Together by Renée Watson
The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco
A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen #2) by Roshani Chokshi
Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

March 2017

Welcome to Gotham Academy by Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher, Karl Kerschl
Octavia E. Butler’s Kindred: A Graphic Novel Adaptation by Octavia E. Butler, Adapter Damian Duffy, Artist John Jennings
The Hate U Give by Angela Thomas (Group Discussion)
Ms. Marvel Vol. 2-4 by G. Willow Wilson with Jacob Wyatt, Adrian Alphona, Takeshi Miyazawa, and Elmo Bondoc as illustrators
Niobe: She is Life by Amandla Stenberg, Sebastian A. Jones, Art by Ashley A. Woods
America by Gabby Rivera Joe Quinones (Artist) (mini-review)
The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

February 2017

Mirror: The Mountain by Emma Ríos, Hwei Lim (Illustrator)
History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
Exo by Fonda Lee
American Street by Ibi Zoboi

January 2017

Flying Lessons & Other Stories edited by Ellen Oh
March: Book Three by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Artist) (mini review)
Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields

December 2016

The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee

November 2016

Lucy and Linh by Alice Pung
Sacrifice by Cindy Pon
The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

October 2016

Shame the Stars by Guadalupe Garcia McCall
When the Moon was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore
Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier
The Totally Awesome Hulk, Volume 1: Cho Time by Greg Pak, Frank Cho (Artist), and Mike Choi (Artist)

September 2016

The Shadow Hour by Melissa Grey
Rani Patel in Full Effect by Sonia Patel
The Poisoned Blade (Court of Fives #2) by Kate Elliott
A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir
Blacktop #1 Justin by L.J. Alonge
Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee

August 2016

Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana
Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas #1) by Zoraida Córdova
Perfect Liars by Kimberly Reid
Running Away to Home by Lita Cooper
Playing for the Devil’s Fire by Phillippe Diederich

July 2016

Away Running by David Wright & Luc Bouchard
The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen
Every Falling Star: The True Story of How I Survived and Escaped North Korea by Sungju Lee & Susan Elizabeth McClelland
The Smaller Evil by Stephanie Kuehn

June 2016

The Rose & the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh
A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry
The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash
Secrets, Lies, & Scandals by Amanda K. Morgan
Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate

May 2016

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
Saving Montgomery Sole by Mariko Tamaki
Enchanted Air: Two Cultures, Two Wings: A Memoir by Margarita Engle
Serpentine by Cindy Pon

April 2016

Future Shock by Elizabeth Briggs
This is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
The Abyss Surrounds Us (The Abyss Surrounds Us #1) by Emily Skrutskie
Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee
The Smoking Mirror (Garza Twins, Book 1) by David Bowles

March 2016

In Real Life by Jessica Love
On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis
The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
Moonshot: The Indigenous Comics Collection Vol. 1 edited by Hope Nicholson

February 2016

The Memory of Light by Francisco X. Stork
The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry
For the Record by Charlotte Huang
Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina

January 2016

Untwine by Edwidge Danticat
SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki (mini-review)
American Ace by Marilyn Nelson

December 2015

Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley, Nathan Fairbairn (Colorist)

November 2015

Juniors by Kaui Hart Hemmings
Urban Tribes: Native Americans in the City edited by Lisa Charleyboy and Mary Beth Leatherdale (Group Discussion)
Show and Prove by Sofia Quintero
Ms. Marvel, Volume 1: No Normal written by G. Willow Wilson and illustrated by Adrian Alphona
Consent by Nancy Ohlin

October 2015

The Suffering by Rin Chupeco
Into the Dangerous World by Julie Chibarro & illustrated by JM Superville Sovak (mini-review)
The Memory Key by Liana Liu
Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid
The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore
An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes by Randy Ribay (mini review)
Darkness Hidden (Name of the Blade #2) by Zoe Marriott

September 2015

Evolution (Extraction #3) by Stephanie Diaz (mini-review)
All American Boys by Jason Reynolds & Brendan Kiely
Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
Trail of the Dead (Killer of Enemies #2) by Joseph Bruchac
Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Pérez

August 2015

Endangered by Lamar Giles
Court of Fives (Court of Fives #1) by Kate Elliott
Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

July 2015

Ink and Ashes by Valynne E. Maetani
Delicate Monsters by Stephanie Kuehn
Most Likely to Succeed by Jennifer Echols
The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

June 2015

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough (mini-review)
The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler
Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older
Love Edy by Shewanda Pugh
P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han
I Will Always Write Back by Caitlin Alifirenka & Martin Ganda with Liz Welch

May 2015

The Hunted (The Living #2) by Matt de la Peña
An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera (mini-review)
The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
Surviving Santiago by Lyn Miller-Lachmann

April 2015

Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee
Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero
The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu (mini-review)
None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio
Crazy Horse’s Girlfriend by Erika T. Wurth
Of Dreams and Rust (Of Metal and Wishes #2) by Sarah Fine

March 2015

Stella by Starlight by Sharon Draper
Biggest Flirts (Superlatives #1) by Jennifer Echols (mini review)
Shutter by Courtney Alameda
POLI: A Mexican Boy in Early Texas by Jay Neugeboren (mini review)
Black Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein
The Kidney Hypothetical: Or How to Ruin Your Life in Seven Days by Lisa Yee

February 2015

Not Otherwise Specified by Hannah Moskowitz
Hold Me Down by Calvin Slater (mini review)
My Heart & Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez
Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

January 2015

Rebellion (Extraction #2) by Stephanie Diaz
Rose Eagle by Joseph Bruchac (mini review)
The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds
Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan
This Side of Home by Renée Watson
X by Ilyasah Shabazz with Kekla Magoon
Mr. Samuel’s Penny by Treva Hall Melvin

December 2014

Love is the Drug by Alaya Dawn Johnson
Stranger (The Change #1) by Rachel Manija Brown, Sherwood Smith

November 2014

In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang (mini-review)
The Walled City by Ryan Graudin
Dirty Wings (All Our Pretty Songs #2) by Sarah McCarry
Hunt for the Bamboo Rat by Graham Salisbury
Empire of Shadows (Bhinian Empire #2) by Miriam Forster

October 2014

The Girl From the Well by Rin Chupeco
How it Went Down by Kekla Magoon
Frozen (Heart of Dread #1) by Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston
How It Went Down by Kekla Magoon
Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan
Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn

September 2014 

Midnight Thief by Livia Blackburne
Fresh Off the Boat by Melissa de la Cruz (mini-review)
While We Run by Karen Healey
Tyrell, Bronxwood, Kendra, and Kinda Like Brothers by Coe Booth (mini-reviews)
Pig Park by Claudia Guadalupe Martínez
Extraction by Stephanie Diaz

August 2014

The Art of Secrets by James Klise
Hungry by H.A. Swain (mini review)
Kaleidoscope: Diverse YA Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories edited by Alisa Krasnostein and Julia Rios
Can You See Me Now? by Estela Bernal
Katrin’s Chronicles: the Canon of Jacqueléne Dyanne, vol. 1 by Valerie C. Woods
The Ring and the Crown by Melissa de la Cruz
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

July 2014

A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman
There’s a Name For This Feeling: Stories by Diane Gonzales Bertrand
Pointe by Brandy Colbert (mini review)
Girl in Reverse by Barbara Stuber
Of Metal and Wishes by Sarah Fine

June 2014

Angel de la Luna and the 5th Glorious Mystery by M. Evelina Galang
Byronic by Sandi Beth Jones
Otherbound by Corrine Duyvis
This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki, Jillian Tamaki (Illustrator)

May 2014

The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina
Caminar by Skila Brown
To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
Diamonds and Deceit (At Somerton #2) by Leila Rasheed
Rebellion (Tankborn #3) by Karen Sandler
Dangerous by Shannon Hale

April 2014
Promise of Shadows by Justina Ireland
How I Discovered Poetry by Marilyn Nelson
Ask Me by Kimberly Pauley
Mini-review Abby Spencer Goes to Bollywood by Varsha Bajaj
Grim edited by Christine Johnson
Mini-review Death Spiral: A Faith Flores Mystery by Janie Chodash

March 2014

For Today I am a Boy by Kim Fu
The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang and Sonny Liew
Ruins by Dan Wells
The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa

February 2014

Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna
Romeo and Juliet by Shakespeare & Adapted by Gareth Hinds
Black Dog by Rachel Neumeier
Ignite Me by Tahera Mafi

January 2014

Chasing Shadows by Chwati Avasthi
The Living by Matt de la Peña
Control by Lydia Kang
Warrior by Ellen Oh

December 2013

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor (mini review)
He Said She Said by Kwame Alexander
If I Ever Get Out of Here by Eric Gansworth (Group Discussion)

November 2013

Proxy by Alex London
Fire with Fire by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
Champion by Kendare Blake
Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow
Diverse Energies Edited by Tobias S. Buckell & Joe Monti

October 2013

Jumped In by Patrick Flores-Scott
Antigoddess by Kendare Blake
Death, Dickinson, and the Demented Life of Frenchie Garcia by Jenny Torres Sanchez
Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan

September 2013

Tears of a Tiger by Sharon M. Draper (flashback in color)
Boxers and Saints by Gene Luen Yang
The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson (Group Discussion)
Inheritance by Malinda Lo
Jane Austen Goes to Hollywood by Abby McDonald
Killer of Enemies by Joseph Bruchac

August 2013

Team Human by Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan
The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz (mini review)
Long Division by Keise Laymon
Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan (mini review)
Shadows on the Moon by Zoe Marriott

July 2013

A Really Awesome Mess by Trish Cook and Brendan Halpin (mini review)
The Counterfeit Family Tree of Vee Crawford-Wong by L. Tam Holland (mini review)
Charm & Strange by Stephanie Kuehn
Since You Asked by Maurene Goo
When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney
Open Mic: Riffs on Life Between Cultures in Ten Voices | Edited by Mitali Perkins

June 2013

Summer of the Mariposas by Guadalupe Garcia McCall
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor (flashback in color)
A Moment Comes by Jennifer Bradbury
What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang (mini review)
The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa
Prophecy by Ellen Oh

May 2013

Flowers in the Sky by Lynn Joseph
A Match Made in Heaven by Trina Robbins (author) and Xian Nu Studio & Yuko Ota (illustrators) (mini review)
Shadows Cast by Stars by Catherine Knutsson
Beauty by Nancy Ohlin
Spirit’s Chosen by Esther Friesner
Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan (mini review)
Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass by Meg Medina

April 2013

Hammer of Witches by Shana Mlawski
Fragments by Dan Wells
Awakening by Karen Sandler
Cat Girl’s Day Off by Kimberly Pauley (mini review)
Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

March 2013

City of a Thousand Dolls by Miriam Forster
Orleans by Sherri L. Smith
Vessel by Sarah Beth DurstOc

Share
2 Comments on “Review Archive
  1. Thanks so for doing this. I run a book club for incarcerated teenaged girls who are being tried as adults in L.A. and I’ve been searching for a source of books by women of color that are also YA – you have so many. This is invaluable!

    • You’re welcome! Glad we could help you out. You’ll want to double check the titles you’re interested in since we review YA books that star people of color (but aren’t necessarily written by people of color). I hope you’re able to find books that will work well for your book club!

Leave a Reply