Bring on the Awards

At the end of January, the Youth Media Awards were announced (see press release here). Today we’re highlighting and celebrating some of those creators and their works.

Corretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award: Tiffany D. Jackson

Monday’s Not Coming [K. Imani’s review]
Katherine Tegen Books


Michael L. Printz Award & Pura Belpré Author Award: Elizabeth Acevedo

The Poet X [Audrey’s review]


Coretta Scott King Author Award: Claire Hartfield

A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919


Schneider Family Book Award for Teens: Mark Oshiro

Anger is a Gift
Tor Teen



Schneider Family Book Award Honor for Teens: Kelly Jensen (editor)

(Don’t) Call Me Crazy: 33 Voices Start the Conversation About Mental Health
Algonquin Young Readers


Children’s Literature Legacy Award: Walter Dean Myers

Stonewall Honor: Kelly Loy Gilbert

Picture Us in the Light [Jessica’s review]



William C. Morris Award (Debut author) & Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature (YA): Adhib Khorram

Darius the Great is Not Okay
Dial Books

William C. Morris Award Finalist: Ngozi Ukazu

Check, Please! #Hockey [Jessica’s review]
First Second



William C. Morris Award Finalist: Tomi Adeyemi

Children of Blood and Bone [K. Imani’s review]
Henry Holt Books for Young Readers



Asian/Pacific American Award for Young Adult Literature Honor: Emily X.R. Pan

The Astonishing Color of After [Crystal’s review]
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

We congratulate these creators and look forward to seeing more of their work in the future.