New Releases

Collage of Shadow Coven, Champion of Fate, and All the Fighting Parts. Each is described in more detail below.

We have something for everyone this week! Which of these books are on your radar already?

Of Dreams and Destiny cover. This illustrated cover features an elaborate purple key with a blue paisley-style fantasy design behind it.Of Dreams and Destiny (St. Rosetta’s Academy #3) by Sandhya Menon
Simon Pulse

It’s senior year, and Daphne Elizabeth “DE” McKinley, the heiress to the McKinley hotel dynasty, is still licking her wounds after a painful breakup. She’s determined to keep her head down and her heart shuttered—even from new student Xander, no matter how dreamy he is.

Then Rosetta Academy is swallowed up by a sudden and massive spring storm, and very strange things start happening. The students start to fall into a stupor, then a deep sleep…one by one. Soon, DE is racing against the clock to find the source of the strange spell and stop it before it claims the entire school. Could Xander’s help be the key to solving the mystery?

All the Fighting Parts cover. A Black teenage girl stands in front of a stained-glass window. She has natural curly hair and is wearing a light blue t-shirt and gold hoop earrings. She has her arms crossed and even though her body is turned to the side, she has turned her head so she is looking directly at the viewer.All the Fighting Parts by Hannah V. Sawyerr
Abrams

In the vein of Grown and The Poet X, a searing and defiant novel in verse about reclaiming agency after a sexual assault within the church community.

Sixteen-year-old Amina Conteh has always believed in using her tongue as her weapon—even when it gets her into trouble. After cursing at a classmate, her father forces her to volunteer at their church with Pastor Johnson.

But Pastor Johnson isn’t the holy man everyone thinks he is.

The same voice Amina uses to fight falls quiet the night she is sexually assaulted by Pastor Johnson. After that, her life starts to unravel: her father is frustrated that her grades are slipping, and her best friend and boyfriend don’t understand why the once loud and proud girl is now quiet and distant. In a world that claims to support survivors, Amina wonders who will support her when her attacker is everyone’s favorite community leader.

When Pastor Johnson is arrested for a different crime, the community is shaken and divided; some call him a monster and others defend him. But Amina is secretly relieved. She no longer has to speak because Pastor Johnson can’t hurt her anymore–or so she believes.

To regain her voice and sense of self, Amina must find the power to confront her abuser—in the courtroom and her heart—and learn to use all the fighting parts within her.

Nightbreaker cover. A woman with bright red, shoulder-length hair reaches up with her right hand, which is glowing and looks like lightning is starting to come out of it. She is wearing a skin-tight, superhero-looking outfit with gold accents and a long, duster-like cape. Behind her is a city nightscape.Nightbreaker (Nightbreaker #1) by Coco Ma
Viking Books for Young Readers

Fifteen years ago, The Vanishing thrust Manhattan into darkness, forever changing the City That Never Sleeps. Aboveground, resilient New Yorkers have adapted by clinging to the vestiges of their cosmopolitan lives. Below the streets–well, you never go underground unless you have a death wish.

Or unless you’re Rei Reynolds.

By day, Rei attends the an elite New York prep school, but by cover of night, she’s is a self-initiated warrior with a knack for hunting Deathlings, the deadly creatures that haunt Manhattan’s subway tunnels and blood-soaked streets at night. All Rei wants is to avenge her parents, who were slaughtered years ago by the nightmarish monsters.

The Tournament is the only path to the career Rei has always dreamed of–becoming a Maverick, the city’s elite Deathling-killing force. Winning should be a breeze, but the one potential problem is fellow competitor Kieran Cross, Rei’s infuriating ex with whom she shares a bitter history. But as the Tournament progresses–and the cutthroat betrayals mount–everything Rei believed about who she can and cannot trust is called into question. She soon becomes the target of everyone who wants to keep the city’s ruling class in power, as well as those who seek to bring it down.

In other words, Rei is positively and completely screwed.

Coco Ma’s exhilarating fantasy blends thrills and chills for an immersive read featuring the snarky, postapocalyptic heroine we all hope to be.

Shadow Coven book cover. Four teenage girls lie in a field of grass. They're looking up neutrally at the viewer, holding hands together and forming a circle. Shadow Coven (The Witchery #2) by S. Isabelle
Scholastic Press

After defeating the Wolves, Jailah, Logan, Iris, and Thalia want nothing more than a summer of fun and relaxation. But there is no rest for the wicked, especially when Death comes for Iris. She is to become a Reaper, tasked with banishing souls who refuse to cross over. But Iris suspects there’s something more ominous going on when Mathew’s role as her tether grows sinister.

Logan and Thalia are ready to prove themselves as witches. Except Logan still hears the howling Wolves and realizes that the Haunting Season may have awakened more than just her magic. And while Thalia wants to spend her days cleansing the Swamp for good, she finds herself heading to a place she swore she’d never go again: home. Witches have started going missing near Annex, and Thalia is convinced that her father is behind the disappearances. With the help of Logan and Trent, Thalia returns to stop him.

Meanwhile, Jailah is focused on her internship with the Haelsford Witchery Council until she discovers a treacherous magic hidden beneath Mesmortes, and there are those who will go to great lengths to keep it buried. So, she turns to the only person who understands, even if it’s the one witch who hates her most.

Separated by distance, the coven is surrounded by magical and mundane threats that must be defeated before they lose their witchery–and each other–forever…

Champion of Fate book cover. A pair of hands grasp a sword and hold it upright. In the blade's reflection, a portion of someone's face is reflected. The person's eye catches the light, causing a flare. Streaks of orange, looking like either ribbons or flames, swirl about the hands and swords. You can see what are presumably other heroes in there, riding horses or holding weapons.Champion of Fate (Heromaker #1) by Kendare Blake
Quill Tree Books

Behind every great hero is an Aristene.

Aristene are mythical female warriors, part of a legendary order. Though heroes might be immortalized in stories, it’s the Aristene who guide them to victory. They are the Heromakers.

Ever since she was an orphan taken in by the order, Reed has wanted to be an Aristene. Now, as an initiate, just one challenge stands in her way: she must shepherd her first hero to glory on the battlefield. Succeed, and Reed will take her place beside her sisters. Fail, and she’ll be cast from the only home she’s ever known.

Nothing is going to stop Reed–until she meets her hero. Hestion is fiery and infuriating, but what begins as an alliance becomes more, and as secrets of the order come to light Reed begins to understand what becoming an Aristene may truly cost. Battle looming, she must choose: the order and the life she had planned, or Hestion, and the one she never expected.

A Crown So Cursed (The Nightmare–Verse #3) by L.L. McKinney
Imprint

In the third book in L.L. McKinney’s Nightmare-Verse trilogy, Alice gets one last chance to save Wonderland from itself.

Alice and the gang are trying to recover from recent events—but members of her crew start having weird dreams. The same dreams. It seems the evil in Wonderland may not be as defeated as they thought—because someone’s building an army of Nightmares to attack the mortal world. But before Alice jumps into battle, she discovers she has a personal connection to Wonderland, and she must face what it means for the fight ahead. — Cover image and summary via Goodreads

When a Brown Girl Flees cover. This illustrated cover features a collage of objects, like the NYC skyline, a bridge, flowers, coffee cups, a mosque, a book and pen, flowers, and a pair of people holding hands. In the foreground, a girl where a long, green hijab, a pink shirt, and jeans, has her back to the viewer while she looks at the collage.When a Brown Girl Flees by Aamna Qureshi
Tu Books

After Zahra Paracha makes a decision at odds with her beliefs, her mother forces Zahra to make an impossible choice about her future. So Zahra runs away. A train and a plane ride later, she finds herself in New York, where she relinquishes her past in favor of a new future. There, she must learn who she is without the marionette strings of control in her mother’s hands. There, she must learn who she wishes to become.

On Long Island, Zahra stays at a bed & breakfast, unsure of her place in the world. Anxious, depressed, and grappling with guilt, she wanders aimlessly. She eventually visits the local masjid, where she is befriended by two sisters and drawn into the welcoming Muslim community there.

It is in this place of safety that Zahra’s healing truly begins–but can she create a home for herself when the foundation is built on lies she’s spun to protect her from the past? When a family friend recognizes her, will everything come crashing down? As Zahra tries to build a life for herself in this new place, the heart of the matter becomes clear: she can’t run away forever. Can she close the rift in her family and truly, fully heal?

In this powerful novel from new voice Aamna Qureshi, a Muslim teen goes on a breathtaking journey to find her home and–more importantly–herself.