Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Dead Things Are Closer Than They Appear

February 13

Illustrated cover for Dead Things Are Closer Than They Appear. A teenage boy and girl stand at the bottom corners of the cover. They are turned toward each other, all in white, and appear to either be about to draw the swords beneath them or reaching toward each other. Green vines and leaves bracket the edges of the cover, and a skull is on one side and a cat on the other. A pair of skeletal hands cling to telephone poles, and above is a crescent moon.Dead Things Are Closer Than They Appear by Robin Wasley
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

A painfully average teen’s life is upended by a magical apocalypse in this darkly atmospheric and sweepingly romantic novel perfect for fans of The Raven Boys , Buffy the Vampire Slayer , and The Rest of Us Just Live Here .

High school is hard enough to survive without an apocalypse to navigate.

Sid Spencer has always been the most normal girl in her abnormal hometown, a tourist trap built over one of the fault lines that seal magic away from the world. Meanwhile, all Sid has to deal with is hair-ruining humidity, painful awkwardness, being one of four Asians in town, and her friends dumping her when they start dating each other—just days after one of the most humiliating romantic rejections faced by anyone, ever, in all of history.

Then someone kills one of the Guardians who protect the seal. The earth rips open and unleashes the magic trapped inside. Monsters crawl from the ground, no one can enter or leave, and the man behind it all is roaming the streets with a gang of violent vigilantes. Suddenly, Sid’s life becomes a lot less ordinary. When she finds out her missing brother is involved, she joins the remaining Guardians, desperate to find him and close the fault line for good.

Fighting through hordes of living corpses and uncontrollable growths of forest, Sid and a ragtag crew of would-be heroes are the only thing standing between their town and the end of the world as they know it. Between magic, murderers, and burgeoning crushes, Sid must survive being a perfectly normal girl caught in a perfectly abnormal apocalypse.

Only—how can someone so ordinary make it in such an extraordinary world?

Details

Date:
February 13
Event Categories:
, ,

For additions or corrections to the calendar, please contact one of our bloggers or leave a comment on the latest post!