Loading Events

« All Events

In Limbo: A Graphic Memoir

March 7

The cover has a young woman floating in water. Her hands are open and she is holding her mouth closed and is looking up. There is a sun in the background. There are clouds and birds.  In Limbo: A Graphic Memoir by Deb JJ Lee
First Second

Deborah (Jung-Jin) Lee knows she’s different. Ever since her family emigrated from South Korea to the United States, she’s felt her Otherness. For a while, her English isn’t perfect. None of her teachers can pronounce her Korean name. Her face and her eyes—especially her eyes—stand out. As the pressures of high school ramp up, friendships change and end, and everything gets harder. Even home isn’t a safe place, as fights with her mom escalate. Deb is caught in a limbo, with nowhere to go, and her mental health plummets.

But Deb is resilient. She discovers art and self-care, and gradually begins to start recovering. And during a return trip to South Korea, she realizes something that changes her perspective on her family, her heritage, and herself.

This stunning debut graphic memoir features page after page of gorgeous, evocative art, perfect for Tillie Walden fans. It’s a cross section of the Korean-American diaspora and mental health, a moving and powerful read in the vein of Hey, Kiddo and The Best We Could Do. — Cover image and summary via Goodreads

Details

Date:
March 7
Event Categories:
,

For additions or corrections to the calendar, please contact one of our bloggers or leave a comment on the latest post!