New Releases

Three new releases this week and a few we’ve all been anxiously awaiting for.

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.inddThe Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Delacorte Press

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? — Cover image and summary via Goodreads

 

25760792Timekeeper (Timekeeper #1) by Tara Sim

Sky Pony Press

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever. [Image and summary via Goodreads]

 

blackdiscThe Black Disc by David B. Ramirez
Hodder & Stoughton

The breathtaking followup to THE FOREVER WATCH, David Ramirez’s astonishing debut, perfect for fans of Neal Stephenson and William Gibson.

On the surface, seventeen-year-old Susan King is a normal girl with normal problems – studying for the SAT, getting a date for prom, and worrying about how she’s going to pay for college. Except she’s not really a normal girl at all, and her problems are far from normal. For one thing, Susan has a secret online life as a hacktivist, using the internet to bring down corrupt corporations around the world. For another, Susan’s already a millionaire.

Until the day a black disc appears from nowhere and begins to orbit the earth. That same day, Susan – and millions of people around the globe – receive an incoherent chain email, full of lunatic predictions claiming to foretell the end of the world. Susan, and everyone else, ignores the email.

And then the predictions start coming true. But what can one girl do to stop the apocalypse? — Cover image and summary via Goodreads

Share