Group Discussion Announcement: A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

Short stories aren’t our usual fare at Rich in Color, but we can’t pass up the opportunity to highlight the short story anthology A Thousand Beginnings and Endings. It’s got an all-star line-up of some of our favorite Asian authors reimagining and retelling Asian folklore, mythologies, and more. This summer, our group discussion book will be A Thousand Beginnings and Endings. Hope you’ll read along!


A Thousand Beginnings and Endings – Edited by Ellen Oh & Elsie Chapman

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors re-imagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me. [Image and summary via Goodreads]


We’ll be posting our group discussion of this anthology on August 14th! Be sure to grab a copy and read along with us. We’re looking forward to digging into these incredible short stories and hearing your thoughts on them as well! Join us!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.