New Releases

Happy book birthday to the two novels being released this Tuesday (6/21)! Are they on your to-read list?

mirrorMirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana
For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices.

As the world lights up with the knowledge of Terra Nova, the mirror planet, Tara’s life on Earth begins to change. At first, small shifts happen, like attention from Nick Osterman, the most popular guy at Brierly, and her mother playing hooky from work to watch the news all day. But eventually those small shifts swell, the discovery of Terra Nova like a black hole, bending all the light around it.

As a new era of scientific history dawns and Tara’s life at Brierly continues its orbit, only one thing is clear: Nothing on Earth–and for Tara–will ever be the same again. [Image and summary via Goodreads]

neverNever Ever by Sara Saedi
Wylie Dalton didn’t believe in fairy tales or love at first sight. Then she met a real-life Peter Pan. When Wylie encounters Phinn—confident, mature, and devastatingly handsome—at a party the night before her brother goes to juvie, she can’t believe how fast she falls for him. And that’s before he shows her how to fly.

Soon Wylie and her brothers find themselves whisked away to a mysterious tropical island off the coast of New York City where nobody ages beyond seventeen and life is a constant party. Wylie’s in heaven: now her brother won’t go to jail and she can escape her over-scheduled life with all its woes and responsibilities—permanently. But the deeper Wylie falls for Phinn, the more she begins to discover has been kept from her and her brothers. Somebody on the island has been lying to her, but the truth can’t stay hidden forever. [Image and summary via Goodreads]

unplulggedUnplugged (The Wired #1) by Donna Freitas

Humanity is split into the App World and the Real World—an extravagant virtual world for the wealthy and a dying physical world for the poor. Years ago, Skylar Cruz’s family sent her to the App World for a chance at a better life.

Now Skye is a nobody, a virtual sixteen-year-old girl without any glamorous effects or expensive downloads to make her stand out in the App World. Yet none of that matters to Skye. All she wants is a chance to unplug and see her mother and sister again.

But when the borders between worlds suddenly close, Skye loses that chance. Desperate to reach her family, Skye risks everything to get back to the physical world. Once she arrives, however, she discovers a much larger, darker reality than the one she remembers.

In the tradition of M. T. Anderson’s Feed and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies, Unplugged kicks off a thrilling and timely sci-fi series for teens from an award-winning writer. [Image and summary via Goodreads]

Share
One Comment on “New Releases
  1. 1st book sugest “Mirror in the Sky” by Aditi Khorana book I’d enjoy best.

    idea or theme: ‘premish’? (probly spelt wrong! sry)

    reminds me of DC Flash, Legends of Tomorrow franchise.
    Multi-verse sci fi gives many story tell options. can be fun, imagine lots.

    but some multi-verses scary if ppl meet villains, cruelty, bigots, or hatrid.

    I v. much love watching Flash on CW w/ my sweetie. ♥♫♥
    He makes me so happy, hard to imagine a world I’d wanna be in, if he was not beside me + we wasn’t in love.

    so I’d preciate him EXTRA after reading books where nice ppl like Reuben can’t help or share love, co-exist etc.

    Is my hope that all ppl in this + any world has or finds
    least 1 special person, hobby, freind, animal, whatev.

    that loves them. brings them happy, joy, love-y feels the way Reuben makes me happy.

    Thanks
    ~Elizabeth

Comments are closed.